Board Members

Ruth Simpson - Chair

Ruth is a graduate of Glasgow University with a M.A. Hons in Medieval and Modern History and her extensive teaching careers includes 10 years as Principal Teacher of History in North Kelvinside Secondary School. Ruth served as a Councillor in Glasgow City Council from 1995-2012 and held posts including Honorary City Treasurer and Chair of Strathclyde Pension Fund. Ruth joined the WSHA Board in 2012 and became Chair on November 2015.

Ruth Simpson

Elaine Davidson - Glasgow - Vice Chairperson

Elaine has been involved with the Board since 2010. She was an observer until 2013 when she became a full member. She has been chair of the Tenant Advisory Group since 2006 and got involved in the Association through a neighbour. Elaine is committed to improving services for fellow tenants.

Elaine Davidson

Ann Reid - Lanarkshire

Ann has been a member of the Board since 2012. She has also been an active member of the Tenant Advisory Group since 2008 which she joined to represent her local community and help to get the best service for tenants. She is passionate about getting involved and ensuring tenants have a voice within the Association. Before retiring, Ann was a Nursing Auxiliary and now spends time as a parent helper at her local school.

Ann Reid

Clare Newton - Ayrshire

Clare has been a member of the Board since 2000. She was initially Chair of Strathclyde (Ayr) Housing Society and when they transferred engagements to WSHA, Clare was invited to join the committee. Clare is passionate about the need for Social Housing and was driven to get involved so that her views could be put to good use. Clare served a four year term as Chair and is a member of the Audit Committee. She also represents WSHA at EVH where she is a member of EVH executive committee and their audit and JNC sub committees.

Clare Newton

Ena Hutchison - Glasgow

Ena has been heavily involved with the work of the Association for a number of years. She was a member of the Tenant Advisory Group before joining the Board in 2008. Ena is committed to playing a role in helping tenants in her area and also the wider communities served by WSHA.

Ena Hutchison

Kelly Adams

Kelly has been a member of the WSHA Board since October 2015 and was also appointed to the Audit Committee in February 2016. She is a qualified Chartered Accountant and an Audit Partner with RSM in Glasgow, heading up the not-for-profit services. Kelly has been heavily involved in the housing sector as part of her career for over 15 years. Kelly joined the committee as she was looking for a varied and challenging appointment that would allow her to use her skills and expertise in accounting and finance to make a difference.

Kelly Adams

Derek McGowan
Derek was appointed to the WSHA Board in February 2018 and joined to give something back to the communities where he grew up. An experienced senior public manager, he is currently Head of Communities and Housing at Aberdeen City Council and has a proven track record in improving health, wellbeing and quality of life in communities.

Shona Gallagher
Shona joined the Board in early 2018 and wants to use her wealth of housing knowledge and experience to make a difference to tenants. She has a strong grounding in housing from frontline at Glasgow City Council and Maryhill Housing Association, to managerial roles at Bridgeton Dalmarnock Housing Association and Thenue Housing Association. More recently Shona has retrained and is currently an Associate Solicitor with DS Shaw Solicitors.

John Shearer

Bio coming soon